How to Delete Dropbox Account?

by Linas Kiguolis - -
12

Question

Issue: How to Delete Dropbox Account?

I have been using Dropbox for my collage. Basically, I kept all the study material there, and now since I’ve graduated, I don’t really need the account anymore. I deleted the Dropbox app from my PC, but I still seem to successfully login to my account online. How do I delete my account permanently?

Solved Answer

Uninstall now! Uninstall now!
The free scanner will provide you a detailed scan report with file locations specified in the list. To uninstall these files, you have to purchase licensed version of Reimage Reimage uninstall software.

While nobody can deny that Dropbox is a handy cloud storage service used by millions around the world, sometimes people simply grow out of their favorite programs and start looking for something new. This tendency does not have to be dependent on the quality of these services. So, if for some reason you no longer need that extra storage space for your files on the Dropbox platform, keep reading this article and you will learn how to delete your Dropbox account easily.

Image illustrating Dropbox account removal

Before you start the Dropbox account discontinuation procedure, check whether you don’t need any of the files stored on this account anymore. If you do, backup the important data by saving it on your computer or some external storage drive.

You should remember that by deleting your account, you will lose access to your account on dropbox.com. The shared folders will remain available to your and the people you’ve shared them with, but you will not be able to edit them.
You should also remember that if you do not delete Dropbox folder from your computer, you will be able to see and edit all content that has been synced with your PC while the account was active. Nevertheless, devices linked to Dropbox, including your PC, tablet or smartphone will stop syncing.

Deleting your Dropbox Plus account:

If you are a subscriber to Dropbox, you will first have to cancel your subscription and downgrade your account to Basic. To do that:

  1. Log in to your Dropbox account on the official Dropbox web page
  2. Click on your name in the top-right corner of Dropbox page
  3. Go to the downgrade page (click this link or navigate to this page via Dropbox settings).
  4. Select Downgrade. The downgrade will not delete your files, so if you want, you can keep your account downgraded.

Deleting free Dropbox account:

  1. In case you are using Dropbox Basic and do not subscribe to any of the Dropbox services or you have just downgraded to the free service version, you can skip the account downgrading steps mentioned previously and head straight to the account deactivation:
  2. Log in to your Dropbox account on the official Dropbox web page
  3. Click on your name in the top-right corner of Dropbox page
  4. In the drop-down menu choose Settings
  5. Once you are in the Settings window, go to the Account tab and scroll to the bottom of the page where you will find the “Delete my account” option
  6. When asked whether you really want to delete your account, enter your password and select the reason for leaving Dropbox
  7. Click “Delete my account” button at the bottom.

The process of eliminating all your dropbox account data may take up to 60 days. During this period, you will not be able to log in to your account via dropbox.com, but the content you will have stored on the “Dropbox” folder on your computer will remain in tact.

Get rid of programs with only one click

You can uninstall this program with the help of the step-by-step guide presented to you by ugetfix.com experts. To save your time, we have also selected tools that will help you carry out this task automatically. If you are in a hurry or if you feel that you are not experienced enough to uninstall the program by your own, feel free to use these solutions:

We might be affiliated with any product we recommend on the site. Full disclosure in our Agreement of Use. By Downloading any provided software you agree to our privacy policy and agreement of use.
do it now!
Download
removal software Happiness
Guarantee
do it now!
Download
removal software Happiness
Guarantee
Compatible with Microsoft Windows Compatible with OS X
Run into problems?
If you failed to uninstall the program using Reimage, let our support team know about your issues. Make sure you provide as much details as possible. Please, let us know all details that you think we should know about your problem.
Reimage - a patented specialized Windows repair program. It will diagnose your damaged PC. It will scan all System Files, DLLs and Registry Keys that have been damaged by security threats.Reimage - a patented specialized Mac OS X repair program. It will diagnose your damaged computer. It will scan all System Files and Registry Keys that have been damaged by security threats.
This patented repair process uses a database of 25 million components that can replace any damaged or missing file on user's computer.
To repair damaged system, you have to purchase the licensed version of Reimage malware removal tool.

About the author

Linas Kiguolis
Linas Kiguolis - IT professional

Linas Kiguolis is a qualified IT expert that loves sharing his excellent knowledge about problems in Windows and Mac operating systems. Linas’ insights often help other team members find quick solutions for visitors of UGetFix site.

Contact Linas Kiguolis
About the company Esolutions

What you can add more about the problem: "How to Delete Dropbox Account?"